Various and Sundered Items

Bible Bit: What God Has Joined Together (Psalm 16:2-3 )

Hello and welcome! I started this blog to talk about the things that excite me: Jesus and His Word, TTRPGs, and Worldbuilding. So here's my first post, and the first one on something cool I've seen in Scripture. I'm calling these "Bible Bits" for now, because I'm a sucker for alliteration. Disclaimer as well that I'm no seminary student, just a guy who has been reading the Bible for a good number of years. So without further ado...

Psalm 16:2-3 ESV says this:

I say to the Lord, "You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you."

As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight.

Wow! The Psalmist says something that looks like a contradiction at first, but it's really a wonderful encouragement and perspective changer. How can he have "no good apart from [God]" and yet have all his delight in the saints, God's people?

I think the rest of Scripture makes it clear - we (God's people) are so closely united with Him that the good we have from Him and the delight we have in His people cannot truly be separated. For those who are in Christ, there is no full separation to be made, though we can make distinctions. God is after all entirely worthy without us. But God has condescended to make sons and daughters out of former enemies, welcoming us into His family for all eternity and binding our good to His glory. Here are a few passages to back that idea of unity between Christ and the Church:

He identifies Himself with us! If you are a believer, I hope you feel the truth of this in your fellowship with other Christians. It is such a joy to be with the people, yet we know that every good and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights (James 1:17)!

Okay, that's it! I'm keeping these short so I can do them more easily and (potentially) regularly. My next couple of posts will probably come at shorter intervals while I catch up with the mental backlog that lead me to start this blog. My prayer is that even my games and worldbuilding posts may be sanctified by the Word of God and prayer, as it says in 1 Timothy 4:4-5.

In Christ,
Various

#Bible Bit #Christianity