Various and Sundered Items

Bible Bit: The Verse That Lived Rent-Free in My Head (Psalm 121:1)

No deep points to make here. This is more of a mini-testimony.

I am hoping (Lord willing) to be married in a matter of months. I have met a wonderful woman who loves my God, my church, and me. But for about a decade before I first asked her if she would like to get dinner with me and discuss a possible future together, I spent most of my life single. This was hard for me, as it is for many others in that situation. You feel you are made for human connection and you can't find the person you connect with in that way. However, God was faithful to me during those times. In the months before I told her I was interested in her, there was a verse that was in my head almost every night like a chorus in my prayers.

Psalm 121:1

A Song of Ascents. (a pilgrimage Psalm recited en route to Jerusalem)

I lift up my eyes to the hills.

From where does my help come?

My help comes from the Lord,

who made heaven and earth.

I love it. So short and sweet.

I lift my eyes to the hills.

You can picture it. You're in the dark, or in a pitched battle. You feel like you're lost and losing, so you look up to the heights for anything - light, reinforcements, anything. You're in the valley, and rescue has to come from outside.

From where does my help come?

Eyes scanning the horizon, pleading.

My help comes from the Lord,

who made heaven and earth.

Dawn. God almighty crests the hill and your problems vanish in the light. Enemies that seemed insurmountable are suddenly vaporous.

That Psalm was so good for my soul. I needed to be relentlessly reminded Who was on my side. If God intends to do you good, then good is what you'll get, whether you understand it at the time or not.

Romans 8:28

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

So, the only piece I need to concern myself with is - in a sense - the Gospel piece. Do I love God? Am I one who is called? All who have believed the Gospel do and are. If so, then I just need to keep focused on the super-reality of the situation and not get distracted or broken down by my mundane circumstances. My permanent circumstance is "Loved by God" and that's what really matters.

In Christ,

Various

#Bible Bit #Christianity